Posted by: Paul | 05/13/2015

A Prog-Rock “Journey”

I’ve spent part of today listening to prog-rock keyboardist Rick Wakeman. And it’s all Inge Lehmann’s fault.

Inge-1932505

Who are those people? Glad you asked!

Lehmann, it turns out, is a Danish seismologist and geophysicist who discovered the Earth’s inner core. I know this because Wikipedia says she was “a Danish seismologist and geophysicist who discovered the Earth’s inner core,” and we all know Wikipedia is never wrong.

But why bring her up today? It’s her birthday. She was born on this day in 1888. I know because … Google paid tribute to her with one of its doodles today. (Wow, she lived to be 104.)

Reading about the Earth’s inner core made me think about Jules Verne’s novel “Journey to the Center of the Earth.” Which in turn made me think about the 1974 album of the same name by former Yes keyboardist Rick Wakeman.

Everything I know about the Earth’s inner core is right here. Enjoy!

 

Unless you are one of those people who think prog-rock is bloated and horrible, in which case I’m sticking my tongue out at you.

Leave a Reply

Categories

